Grupo de Visión Robótica Activa – Cinvestav


List of Mario Castelán’s thesis students:



  1. María Rico-Fernández. Thesis title: “Visual based adaptive methods for monitoring crops in agriculture “. Co-director: Dr. Reyes Ríos-Cabrera.


  1. Carlos E. Garza-Castillo. Thesis title: “Shape-texture coherence for 3D rendering of human faces”.
  2. Héctor I. Guerrero-Reyes. Thesis title: “Visual based growth monitoring for crops in agriculture”.



  1. Pablo A. Martínez-González. Thesis title: “Active localization of a humanoid robot for locomotion and reconstruction tasks”. Co-director: Dr. Gustavo Arechavaleta. 2016.
  2. Dalila Sánchez-Escobedo. Thesis title: “3D face shape prediction using cylindrical coordinates, contours and latent variable-based regression”, 2015.
  3. Felipe Hernández-Rodríguez. Thesis title: “Face shape recovery using extended photometric sampling”, 2013.


  1. Christian Alejandro Luna-Aguilar. Thesis title: “Incorporating acoustic sensors for the tracking and control of a mobile robot”. Co-director: Dr. América Morales. 2015.
  2. María Rico-Fernández. Thesis title: “Estimating human head orientation using multivariate linear regression”, 2013.
  3. Josafat Delfín-Márquez. Thesis title: “3D object reconstruction using a humanoid robot”. Co-director: Dr. Gustavo Arechavaleta. 2012.
  4. Elier Cruz-Pérez. Thesis title: “Reflectance characterization and transference via extended photometric sampling”, 2012.
  5. Christian A. Ramírez-Bejarano. Thesis title: “Modeling of human walking using multilinear algebra”. Co-director: Dr. Gustavo Arechavaleta. 2011.
  6. Jocelyn Miranda-Hernández. Thesis title: “Face colorization from grayscale images”. Co-diector: Dr. Luz Abril Torres-Méndez.  2011.
  7. Francisco Javier Castro-Martínez. Thesis title: “Object recognition using artificial neural networks, variable illumination and combined visual features”. Co-director: Dr. Ismael López-Juárez. 2011.
  8. Dalila Sánchez-Escobedo. Thesis title: “Face shape prediction from a single image using cylindrical coordinates and regression based on latent variables”. Co-director: Dr. Uwe Kruger. 2011.
  9. Pablo A. Martínez-González. Thesis title: “Incorporation of the light transport constancy constraint into binocular stereo algorithms”, 2010.
  10. Gustavo A. Puerto-Souza. Thesis title: “Using subspace multiple linear regression for 3D face shape prediction”. Graduated from the MSc program in Computer Science, Center for Research in Mathematics. Co-director: Dr. Johan Van Horebeek. 2009
  11. Sergio A. Rosales-Morales. Thesis title: “3D map reconstruction based on statistical visual features”. Co-director: Dr. Luz Abril Torres-Méndez. 2009.
  12. Felipe Hernández Rodríguez. Thesis title: “Robot assisted photometric stereo”. 2008
  13. Ana J. Almazán-Delfín. Thesis title: “Face shape recovery from the zenith angle of the surface normal”. Graduated from the MSc program in Artificial Intelligence, University of Veracruz. Co-director: Dr. Antonio Marín-Hernández. 2008


CINVESTAV, Robótica y Manufactura Avanzada

Contact us